Safeguarding

All staff have a duty of care to respond appropriately to any protection concerns relating to the young people we come into contact with.

  • Staff are here to listen to any concerns that you have for yourself or a fellow student.
  • Staff will not make assumptions about whether harm/abuse has taken place.
  • Staff want to reassure you and will be sensitive to any anxieties you have. Staff cannot guarantee confidentiality.
  • Staff will have to pass on information to the College Safeguarding Co-ordinator or appropriate contact and ensure that you are kept safe.
  • Staff will record everything you tell them and will keep you informed of what happens at every step of the process.

Click to view the full Safeguarding Policy and the Safeguarding Procedure.

Remember you can speak to any staff member if you have any concerns. However, college staff with specific responsibility for Safeguarding are:

Thurso

 NameTelephoneEmail
Senior Management Team Safeguarding Sophie Dunnett

01847889565

07818092280

sophie.dunnett@uhi.ac.uk
Safeguarding Coordinator Anna Swanson

01847889310

07818288075

anna.swanson@uhi.ac.uk
Safeguarding Officer Lance Nicholson 01847889493 lance.nicholson@uhi.ac.uk

Alness

 NameTelephoneEmail
Safeguarding Officer Helen Mackenzie 01847889609 helen.mackenzie@uhi.ac.uk
Safeguarding Officer Kirsteen Lemon 01847889606 kirsteen.lemon@uhi.ac.uk

Invergordon

 NameTelephoneEmail
Safeguarding Officer David Tidmarsh   david.tidmarsh@uhi.ac.uk

Dornoch

 NameTelephoneEmail
Safeguarding Officer Jacqueline Macaulay

01847889379

07768163142

jacqueline.macaulay@uhi.ac.uk